top of page

DEF awards 2017 Fall Grants

Board members of Denison ISD’s Education Foundation recently surprised five talented DISD teachers with classroom grant awards worth almost $22,000, bringing DEF classroom grant totals to $768,089.84 which have impacted the lives of thousands of Denison children.

Veteran teacher Kenna Brandt, Lamar Elementary school’s Reading Interventionist, earned two grant awards that will enhance and improve reading skills for hundreds of young readers over the upcoming years: “My Take Home Reading Club!” in the amount of $3,790.50; and “On the Road to Reading” in the amount of $2,586.

Other elementary grant awards went to Lisa Cobble at Houston who received $4,474 for an innovative math program entitled “Guiding Our Students Through Math: A Guided Approach to Learning”; Pam Bellermann at Hyde Park who received $3,392 for an interactive STEM program called “It takes a Village…Courtyard Renovation Project”; and Diana Garza-Gonzalez at Mayes who was awarded $2,500 for a project entitled “One World, Many Stories” which is designed to instill and nurture a better understanding of math concepts through reading books that are specifically math oriented.

Denison High School’s Trisa Dyer was also awarded a classroom grant for “Through the Lens” in the amount of $4,950, which will be used to purchase additional cameras for her Commercial Photography class.

“These enhanced programs, which aren’t covered by the district’s general operating budget, play a tremendous role in the long-term success of so many of our students,” said DISD Superintendent Dr. Henry Scott who participated in the recent event. “They help kids understand difficult math and science concepts and experience real-world global learning…while also opening their eyes to exciting career possibilities. We are just so very grateful for everything DEF does to help our young people excel and succeed…in school and in life.”

2017 DEF Fall Grant recipient: Pam Bellermann, Hyde Park Elementary

2017 DEF Fall Grant recipient: Trisa Dyer, Denison High School

2017 DEF Fall Grant recipient: Lisa Cobble, Houston Elementary

2017 DEF Fall Grant recipient: Diana Garza-Gonzalez, Mayes Elementary

2017 DEF Fall Grant recipient: Kenna Brandt, Lamar Elementary

Recent Posts
bottom of page