top of page

DISD Board Trustees honor outstanding students

Throngs of Denison ISD award-winning students, families, teachers, coaches and friends packed the DISD Board Room on May 17 for the Board of Trustee’s annual student recognition and plaque presentation ceremony honoring exceptional achievements by DIDS students. This year’s honorees include:

LEGO League Core Values Award:Brinley Brown, Sophia Carbajal, Lynli Dickinson, Addison Jackson, Vivian Marquez, Jaya McKoy and Rylan Perkins; LEGO League Rising All-Star Award:Heather Abbott, Jake Mihm, Manuel Verduzco, Itzaak Villalobos, Alex Sharp, Jonathan Peterson and Maxton Harbour; LEGO League Breakthrough Award: Alma Magers, Jose Salgado, Chase Courtright and Andrew Kinghorn; Touch of Gold U.I.L Sweepstake Award -Marching Band 1st Division, Wind Ensemble: Touch of Gold Band All Region Band: Rose Brown, John Dornstadter, III, Michael Golston, Gavin Dunaway, Axton Grams, David Ariza, Madison Griffis, Brayden Calhoun. Ian Hosford, Venuki Gamage, Fischer Rogers and Breanna Conejo; Touch of Gold U.I.L. Region 25 Area Qualifiers:David Aiza, Brayden Calhoun, Michael Golston and Axton Grams; Touch of Gold Band Texas Music Scholars: Rose Brown, Brayden Calhoun, Gavin Dunaway, Michael Golston, Madison Griffis and Ian Hosford; Band National Flute Association: Katlyn Fraizer; Band Texas State Solo and Ensemble State Qualifiers: Eva Adame, David Ariza, Olga Arroyo, Sadie Banks, Rose Brown, Brayden Calhoun, Dylan Coley, Savannah Collins, Ian Creswell, Holtzin Cruz, John Dornstadter, Gavin Dunaway, Venuke Gamage, Axton Grams, Michael Golston, Madison Griffis, Hunter Henson, Megan Hunter, Ian Hosford, Beth Anne Kirkbride, Ash Luis, Alice Magers, Emma McConnell, Grace Nelson, Felix Orozco, Camron Pruitt, Allison Turner and Shayla Walters; Varsity Lady Jacket Softball Team Bi-District Qualifiers: Ashlinn Hamilton, Katelynn Martinez, Hannah Grinspan, Jewel Hiberd, Alicia Bohannon, Bailey Cook. Campbell Anderson, Lauren Grinspan, Carli MacKay, Autumn Mitchell, Maddi Luper, Bella Palmer, Camryn Nixon andEmmerson Dickinson; Varsity Yellow Jacket Baseball Team Bi-District Qualifiers: Brendan Wolf, Cooper Mackay, Ethan Jaresh, Garland Parker, Ty Kirkbride, Peyton Johnson, Kaleb Grigg, Zane Bellows, Zane Ramey, Owen Ewton, Drew Meek, Zaidan Ramey, Barrett Calhoun, Zayden Johnson, Kyson Lusane, Preston Paulson, Jack Aleman, David Emerson, Collin Rice and Canaan Farley Jr.; Track - Shot Put 3rd Place District Finish: De'Teaurean Johnson; Track - Long Jump: Faith Shaw; Powerlifting State Qualifier 4th Place Finish: Kianna Jones; Powerlifting State Qualifier: Brilee Payne; Powerlifting State Qualifier: Ty Kirkbride; Powerlifting State Qualifier 3rd Place Finish: Kyson Lusane; Varsity Football Academic All State Honorable Mention: David Clark; Varsity Football Academic All State 2nd Team:Christian Collum; Varsity Football Academic All State Elite Team: William Gillespie; Varsity Football Academic All State Elite Team: Peyton Johnson; Varsity Football Academic All State Elite Team: Landry Massenburg; Varsity Football Academic All State Honorable Mention:Houston McClure; Varsity Football Academic All State 2nd Team: Jadarian Price; Varsity Football Academic All State 2nd Team: William Wallis; Varsity Football 2nd Team All State:William Wallis; Varsity Football 1st Team All State:Jadarian Price; Varsity Football 1st Team All State: Dameon Smallwood; Texas Association of Future Educators State Qualifiers: Abby Blunt, Alicia Bohannon, Moriah Geesey, Sophia Huffman and Corey Townsend; Texas Association of Future Educators National Qualifiers: Abby Blunt, Alicia Bohannon, Sophia Huffman and Corey Townsend; FFA Lone Star Degree: Lia Topping; FFA Reserve Grand Champion Rabbit: Katie Gullett; FFA 1st Place Simmental Heifer: Ty Eldridge; Texas Thespian Festival National Qualifier: Hope Rhoads; UIL Academic Regional Qualifiers LD Debate: Ian Akers and Karsyn Clouse; UIL Academic Regional Qualifiers Copy Editing: Elizabeth Daniel and Venuke Gamage; UIL Academic Regional Qualifier News Writing: Gretel Hix.

DISD Board President Bob Rhoden recognized DHS band musicians for earning numerous top awards, including All-Region Band honorees who earned The DHS Touch of Gold UIL Sweepstake Award - Marching Band 1st Division, Wind Ensemble.

Members of the Varsity Lady Yellow Jackets Softball team were among dozens of student honorees recognized for achieving high levels of excellence by Denison ISD Board Trustees at their May 17 board meeting.


Recent Posts
bottom of page