top of page



State Testing in Denison ISD

CIRCLE Progress Monitoring

The CIRCLE Progress Monitoring System is a standardized, criterion-referenced measure that relates well to established standardized tests and is sensitive to growth in children’s skills over time.  CIRCLE is a state-approved instrument used to measure Social & Emotional Development, Physical Health, Speech Production & Sentence Skills, Early Reading, Early Writing, and Early Math in the prekindergarten program.


STAAR – State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness

Texas’ student assessment program is designed to measure the extent to which a student has learned and is able to apply the defined knowledge and skills at each tested grade or course level.

Texas has offered a statewide student assessment since 1980. In the spring of 2012, Texas students began taking the State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness (STAAR) exams. Beginning in spring 2017 STAAR will be offered online with embedded supports (i.e., text-to-speech, content and language support and spelling assistance) for eligible students. Eligibility criteria can be found on the Texas Education Agency (TEA) Accommodation Resources webpage.  The state also offers the STAAR Alternate 2 assessment for students who have significant cognitive disabilities and are receiving special education services. Eligibility criteria can be found on TEA’s STAAR Alternate 2 Resources webpage. 



TELPAS - Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System

TEA designed the Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) to assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students make in learning the English language. 


Texas must assess English language learners annually in listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Students in grades K-12 participate until their Language Proficiency Assessment Committee (LPAC) determines that they are proficient in the English language. 

  • Grades K-1: TELPAS includes holistically rated listening, speaking, reading, and writing assessments based on ongoing classroom observations and student interactions.

  • Grades 2-12: TELPAS includes online multiple-choice reading tests, online listening and speaking assessments, and holistically rated writing collections.

bottom of page